Castle Guillaume le Conquérant

Yal7
Located on a rocky outcrop between the valleys of Ante and Marescot, formerly surrounded by swamps, the castle Guillaume-le-Conquérant de Falaise dominates the city and is implanted in natural conditions of ideal defenses.

Witnessing the power of the Anglo-Norman dukes, this fortress, built as a whole in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries is in line with the castles built by William the Conqueror and his successors after the conquest of 1066.

Beautifully restored, this must-see place in the history of France and Europe is today a major element of the regional tourist landscape. It fits, with the monuments of Caen and Bayeux in the Space William the Conqueror.

Château de Guillaume le Conquérant

Yal7
Situé sur un éperon rocheux entre les vallées de l’Ante et du Marescot, autrefois entouré de marécages, le château Guillaume-le-Conquérant de Falaise domine la ville et est implanté dans des conditions naturelles de défenses idéales.

Témoin de la puissance des ducs-rois anglo-normands, cette place forte, édifiée dans son ensemble au XIIe et XIIIe siècles s’inscrit dans la lignée des châteaux construits par Guillaume le Conquérant et ses successeurs après la conquête de 1066.

Magnifiquement restauré, ce lieu incontournable de l’histoire de France et d’Europe s’impose aujourd’hui comme un élément majeur du paysage touristique régional. Il s’inscrit, avec les monuments de Caen et Bayeux dans l’Espace Guillaume le Conquérant.